PACKING the heat.

A look back into time.

A look back into time.

So I’m not gonna lie, I’m a totally insta-stalker. (Yes, I just made that a term.) But, in my defense, about 96% of the time I totally stalk out the hashtag or location tags when people post yummy or cool lookin’ places. I’m a junky when it comes to snoop’n all the pictures under this location, I can’t help myself. Judge me.

String art under the entrance stairs.

String art under the entrance stairs.

So about 10 days ago I stumbled onto the Anaheim Packing District location. Stop what you’re doing right now, get your insta app and check out what I mean. All the Popbar posts, short rib topped fries, and waffles for sandwiches. Drool. As I kept scrolling I was stumbling upon craft cocktails, fresh flowered bouquets, and the neatest décor. I instantly decided, the next chance I could I HAVE TO GO.

So what did I do this weekend? Yep, I went to the Anaheim Packing District. (APD=my new shortened version). Driving up I was instantly anxious, hoping I didn’t get my hopes up for a total dud. I would be crushed. First, the building, it totally reminded me of Pier 39 in San Francisco or the dinning hall in Boston. This place was more then I expected. You walk in and instant nasal flush of fresh flowers. White subway tiles and painted walls alongside green plants draped from walls. The center had geometric shaped green plant holders hanging from the ceiling and long brown ropes following in suit.

The middle grounds of the food hall.

The middle grounds of the food hall.

We took a short walk before we made it to our first stop, The Iron Press. This is a little pop-up bar from their Costa Mesa location. IP carries “waffles and beer”. Pretty much waffled anything, waffle sandwiches, waffle fries, waffle desserts, literally all things waffle. Along side waffles they carry all local beers, even Noble and Bottle Logic (refer to my previous post). I am a sucker for fries with lots of goodies on them so naturally I chose the Irish Nachos. Waffle fries, cabbage, jalapenos, a beer cheese, and prosciutto. Just stop, heaven’s gates have opened. I could not get enough of the cheese on these; can I order just the cheese and eat it? No, it wouldn’t be socially acceptable. The boys got a few beers and we even chatted with the manager while he sipped a whiskey on rocks. I love great customer service, always goes far in my book. Then we headed to a homemade ice cream station and I had to sample the coconut milk ice cream. Creamy, light, and coconut shavings mixed in. Next time, I’m getting the chocolate covered banana. The top level had a coffee bar, juicing station, along with an Asian fusion, and a craft cocktail and beer bar called Hammer, fitting name isn’t it. Each little food corner had the most adorable ambience to flow into the type of food they served. I loved it! This is literally an upscale version of a food court.

Irish Nachos and a nitro tapped beer from The Iron Press

Irish Nachos and a nitro tapped beer from The Iron Press

While we wandered around checking out everyone’s plates and drinks, browsing over menus and our options, poking our heads in the windows. I totally felt outside of California and an escaped to somewhere else. I kind of zoned out those around me and became one with my camera, I even stopped clicking away for a moment and just watched. I love to people watch and try to guess a family or couple’s story. It is so intriguing to me. We headed down stairs while the band set up in the middle of the center and hung out for a few minuets. You can’t help but to be overly stimulated with all the shrubbery, detailed signs, and wicker baskets.

Fresh flowers and boiler baskets.

Fresh flowers and boiler baskets.

Swooning.

Swooning.

Once we finally meandered out of the building we headed toward the grass area across the way. A cement ping pong table, a sanded bocce ball court, and colored, metal sitting chairs. People were eating popsicles, hanging out, and just sitting in silence enjoying the scenery. It was great.

A little gem lost in the flavor of her popsicle.

A little gem lost in the flavor of her popsicle.

I was far from disappointed and I am already so excited to come back. Instagram did not compare to being there in person. I cannot wait to do a food hop here soon and try a little of everything. (Note to self: don’t eat the day before for maximum results.) I think this is a perfect date spot or a place to gab with your girlfriends while grabbing some organic craft cocktails. Don’t forget to post your foodie or drink pictures or even the typical selfie tagging yourself with APD so followers like me get to see what you had! Leave a comment if you have been here or if you have any suggestions for delish food or fun ambience. Until next time friends

 

Leave a Reply

